Wednesday, March 28, 2012

If you liked THE HUNGER GAMES...

I remember waiting between HARRY POTTER books. I was a teenager when the middle ones were coming out, and I was rabid to get my hands on the next one; I went to all the midnight releases and I would stay up reading until I finished. When the books were done, it was the movies.

And waiting between books or between movies you love always leaves this unfillable hole. Re-reading is good, but it's not quite the same as getting the next installment. Or watching the next movie.

So I'm betting a lot of people are feeling that hole right about now, after seeing THE HUNGER GAMES movie. There aren't more books, but we've got two movies to wait for. (Maybe three? I heard a rumor that, a la HP and Twilight, they are splitting Mockingjay? Did anyone hear that? Is this even a reliable source? This?)

While you wait between movies, and break the spines of your HG books from multiple re-readings, I want to know what else you're reading to fill that void. My fellow operatives and I have a couple suggestions, though not quite straight book-to-book comparisons.

Here are mine:

If you liked reading a book about a girl overcoming adversity and learning to fight for her life in the process, then you might like THE SONG OF THE LIONESS quartet by Tamora Pierce.

If you liked Katniss' sharp personality, pragmatism, and emotional struggle, you might like Katsa from GRACELING by Kristin Cashore.

And more really awesome suggestions:

Karen:
If you couldn't choose between Gale and Peeta, you might like the romance between Po and Katsa in GRACELING. Po can be witty and stoic like gale, but underneath he's sweet like Peeta.

Copil:
If you like fights to the death, try The Tenth Victim by Robert Sheckley.

If you like KIDS fighting to the death, try Battle Royale by Koushun Takami

If you like messed up future America, try Feed by M. T. Anderson.

Sara:
If you like Haymitch as a mentor, try Mazer Rackham from Ender's Game. On the surface, they're not super alike, but at the core, yes, they are.


What do you think? Is there an aspect of THE HUNGER GAMES you particularly enjoyed? A scene? A character? An idea? And have you found something you liked in the same way in another book?

Tell us in the comments, so everyone can find some new awesome reading material!

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Small Bird Studios | All Rights Reserved